cleverchickadee


Carrot, coconut flower, raisin muffins. Yah. by texaskillet
June 28, 2014, 10:52 PM
Filed under: Clever Chickadees

WP_20140623_008

In my quest for less sugar and less processed snacks for my kidlet and well everyone in the house frankly. I came across a recipe for coconut flour carrot muffins. It had a little too much ick and not enough yum so I busted it up a little and in my opinion made it more kid palatable. Did any of you ever read that cookbook …ohh what was it called.. Deceptively Delicious? Anyway it was full of ways to trick your kids into eating things that were made with low fat products and included like a half a cup or so of vegetable puree or purees. I recycled it. Sorry. I think my kid needs good wholesome fats from good sources and I also think that a 1/2 cup of puree is not worth the effort. Trust me.. two cups of spinach, an orange and some blueberries and you are doing your kid a big favor. Plus it tastes like a Creamsicle for some reason. 🙂 Go figure. So, try the below in your kitchen, bust it up if you want, make it your own. Let me know how it goes! You might have ideas. My S.O. said “way good” but my son said “it’s like 65% good”. I told him he would love them when we had retrained his taste buds. That’s true right?

WP_20140623_001

 

Ingredients

* 1 cup coconut flour
* 1 cup shredded carrots

* 1/2 cup ground flaxseed meal
* 1/4 cup agave or sweetener sub of your choice
* 1 tsp cinnamon
* 2 tsp vanilla extract
* 2 tsp baking powder
* 4 eggs (thank you Colonel Mustard, Diablo and Roho)
* 6 Tbs Coconut Oil – melted but not hot
* 1/2 cup whole milk
* 1/2 cup raisins

* enough chocolate chips to trick your kids, just

WP_20140623_004

Directions

* Preheat oven to 350*F
* Throw all ingredients in a large mixing bowl, mix with vigor
* Line muffin tin with muffin cup paper thingies
* Pour batter into cups and bake for 20 minutes
* Allow to cool before enjoying, possibly with a nice pat of butter

WP_20140623_005

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

