cleverchickadee


Gluten Free unWings – a Recipe by quornflour

#glutenfree #vegan #reedsgingerbrew #nomnom #friedfood #gameday

When I lived outside of Boston there was an Indian restaurant (I think it was called Dosa Palace… maybe Dosa and Curry) in Somerville that had this dish that the first time I had I wanted more. Ok so it was fried goodness, but it was basically like chicken wings but made with cauliflower, which is kind of funny because generally I am not a huge fan of chicken wings. Recently I had a craving for some, but I am about 1200 miles away, so I made them.

They are pretty easy to make here is what you need:

  • 1 medium head of cauliflower
  • 2½ cups chickpea flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon garam masala
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped garlic
  • 1 cup of Reed’s Extra Ginger Brew
  • Oil for frying – I mix equal parts olive oil and canola oil
  • your favorite buffalo, bbq, teriyaki or whatever sauce you have a hankerin for

Heat oil in a Dutch oven or deep frying pan (like a cast iron skillet), you’ll want it to be about 1½ inches from the bottom of your pot.

Now break up your cauliflower into small pieces (do not use frozen cauliflower). You’ll get a lot of cauliflower crumbs if you just cut it with a knife, so I cut it with a knife into bigger pieces and then tear it into smaller pieces with my fingers. The pieces shouldn’t be any bigger than a chicken wing.

In a bowl mix the dry ingredients together and mix with a fork or a whisk. Next add your Ginger Brew add a little at a time and mix in, it will bubble a lot so if you add it all at once you may end up with a mess. You want the consistency to be similar to pancake batter, so add a little more or a little less liquid as necessary.

Coat the cauliflower in the batter and put it in the oil and cook until golden. I do about a cup worth of cauliflower at a time. Once golden put the cauliflower on a dish with paper towel or a grease catching towel for a minute or two – trade out the towel as necessary.

Toss in your favorite sauce – I like buffalo sauce, bbq sauce and plain… I think it would also be great with a mango chutney, teriyaki sauce and many other sauces… more on those later… serve warm.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

