cleverchickadee


Feeling Minnesota by quornflour
March 3, 2014, 1:42 PM
Filed under: Clever Chickadees

It has been a crazy few… 6… months. After deciding that I had reached a point where I simply was not going to be happy in my job, we parted ways.

I was not really sure what I was going to do next, so I spent a month sleeping. Seriously, I was so worn out and tired of it all, I needed it. When I emerged from my slumber, I realized I had an opportunity sitting in my hands. If I have learned nothing else, I have learned that the best thing to do with an opportunity, is to grab it.

So, I gave my notice at my apartment, with the help of my fabulous friend Sara offloaded tons of my belonging, packed the rest, moved it into storage and bough an RV. Then I set fourth making it visually livable. Structurally it was great, but it was a bit hard on the eyes. I painted the walls I found most offensive, removed the awful window treatments and made new curtains.

I had parked the RV in my sister’s driveway, with the restriction that I needed to be out by the first snow that required shoveling or plowing, since I was parked where the snow goes. In mid-November, I finalized the list of things I needed with me, sewing machines, some fabric, cast iron cooking supplies and of course the pup and hit the road.

My friend J9 flew out from Seattle for the maiden voyage, and her final childless adventure. We headed west.

I know.

Most people say, “um, west? Not south?”

No, not south, west. J9 was going to meet up with her husband in Chicago for Thanksgiving, so we had a destination.

It was an adventure, complete with trucker stop showers, drug sniffing dogs, Wal*Mart parking lots and giant cow gnomes… there are stories here.

What I learned is that roughly 120 square feet isn’t really THAT small. Going over 55MPH greatly reduces your MPG and reminded me that there are a lot of really great people out there.

Then it got cold, really cold. Well, I did end up in Minnesota, yes north, not south. So for now I am hanging out in an apartment in Saint Paul, rekindling my love for the Midwest and plotting out the next chapter. I like it here… I think I just might stick around.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

