cleverchickadee


Trial file: Don’t squash the Squash soup by texaskillet
December 22, 2012, 1:25 AM
Filed under: Clever Chickadees

Well… I have never been one to enjoy a pulp soup.  This is my answer to it and I have to say I loved it and so did TWO soup partakers, one quite by accident.

You know how most Carrot and Squash soup is pulp or essentially squash and carrot run through a blender, not this bad boy.  I received a recipe in my weekly organics box and thought…NO…I will not murder these marvelous gifts of nature that you have sent me.  I instead chose to enjoy them in their righteous and glorious state or something of the sort.  So I did what any self respecting cook does, I made it up.

Here’s how it goes:

Two Acorn squash, halved and deseeded

Two Delicata squash, though any winter squash would work again halved and seeded

Five – Six Carrots, whatever color or variety you like the best, chopped in half once shortways, not longways.

sprinkle with brown sugar and put a pat of butter in the canoe.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and roast for 40 minutes all together in a big casserole dish.

IMG_0095IMG_0097IMG_0100

– remove from the oven and then cool.  Once cool, remove the outer rinde from the squash and make into bite size chunks, then slice the carrots up so they are small wheels, set aside.

In a sauce pan, melt three tablespoons of butter

Chop up one white or yellow onion, good sized.

IMG_0099

Chop up three branches of celery

carmelize and brown these in the melted butter, add some salt and pepper to the process.

Pour in, one regular sized carton of veggie broth (most recipes seem to want you to use chicken broth, I have no idea why). Since veggie broth is sweeter than chicken broth, you will want to salt to taste, plus don’t forget we used a little brown sugar to roast the squash and carrots.  Black pepper is your friend, but use to your liking.

After you have stirred in the broth and have the carmelized onions and celery simmering in it for about 5 minutes, add in your roasted veggies and bring to a boil for about 9 minutes.  Then simmer on LOW or like a 2 for another 10 minutes and let all those flavors marry up.

IMG_0101

Now… trust me here…go get a GIANT bowl.  🙂  Add a dolop of sour cream and another fresh grind of pepper and get your eat on.  Amazing.. it sounds weird or maybe it doesn’t, but it’s SOUPER!  (see what I did there?)  Hah!

IMG_0102

If you like this let me know.  I am happy to do some more testing on my unsuspecting but generally grateful household of mouths.  If you think I should focus on crafts then…I can honestly say “fair feedback”.  🙂

Have a happy Saturday!

TxK

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

