cleverchickadee


Trial file: Pecan Pie with Cranberries by texaskillet

Hey, long time no typie…yes, I hope to make a comeback, but I might need some encouragement.  🙂

There’s this thing that people like to do, it’s called substituting.  I tried out a recipe that substitutes some bad stuff in Pecan Pie (mainly corn syrup), for some more whole stuff (mainly honey and sugars) and adds a little bit of tart for folks that need a break from all that ooey gooey sweet stuff.  So, I made this pie and got RAVE reviews from everyone who tried it.  The boyfriend said it was the BEST PECAN PIE he’s ever had.  Not even lying…well, he might have been, but I am not. I found the base recipe in a magazine and so of course I tore it out, put it in the pile with all the other stuff to try.  Low and behold this one actually got done, with a little TxK elbow grease.  Not really.. like there’s not really grease in it, just a little butter.

Pecan Pie with Cranberry deliciousness (my grandma would probably disapprove):

1/1/2 cup pecan halves.. I used 2 since I like a LOT of pecans, I partially chopped them but made sure I had whole pecan halves on top.

1 cup fresh or frozen, thawed cranberries.. I used fresh (tis’ the season)

1 or 2, 9-inch prepared piecrusts, depending on how deep you want your pie, I like a good buttery crusty type, but you probably have your fav.

3 large eggs.. courtesy of my girls out back (thanks ladies)

1/3 cup sugar.. as real as you want it to be

1/3 dark brown sugar

1/3 cup honey

1 Tbs. butter or margarine, melted.. obviously I used butter (duh)

2 tsp. grated orange zest

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract (opt for alcohol free if you can find it)

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. salt (fine ground sea salt works great)

1.  Preheat oven to 350F.  Spread pecan halves on baking sheet, and toast 5 to 7 minutes in the oven or until light brown and fragrant.

Image

2.  Lightly crush cranberries until broken, but not mashed.  Spread in the bottom of the pie crust.  I left a few whole and made sure they were floating in an asthetically pleasing distance from each other.  I like patterns, what can I say. 🙂

Image

3. Whisk together eggs and sugar in a bowl.  Whisk in brown sugar, honey, butter, orange zest, vanilla, cinnamon and salt.  Stir in pecans, then pour filling over cranberries in piecrust, redistributing pecans and cranberries as desired.

Image

Image

4. Bake 40-50 minutes (for 1 pie) or until toothpick inserted in the center of the pie comes out clean.  Serve warm.. or just eat for days on end until it’s gone.

Image

Wuahhlah!!

Finished pecan cran pie

More serving suggestionsBrandy creme sauce, heavy whipping cream with a touch of extract to bring out more nuttiness or possibly citrus flavor, ice cream (cinnamon or vanilla would be really nice).

Okay for the nutritional detail:  Per slice; 331 calories, 4g prot, 20 g total fat (only 4g sat. fat), 36g carb, 59mg chol, 192mg sod, 2g fiber, 24g sugars

If you decide to give this a go, I would love to hear how it went for you.  I took it to the family Thanksgiving this year and I was super happy I did since folks liked it.  You may have to nudge those Pecan Pie traditionalists, but they won’t regret it. 😉

-TXK

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Whoa a pecan pie recipe with no corn syrup! Sweet. Literally.

Comment by chibisabbath




Leave a Reply

