cleverchickadee


Party Bracelet by quornflour

Occasionally TxK and I plan events and parties as part of our jobs. It is not uncommon for party (club) bracelets to be used as identifiers.

Recently I had an event from work and the location asked that I make sure to check folks in and have an identifier: bracelet, nametag, etc. I had already planned to hand out a thumb drive to attendees and they were on a lanyard. Thing is, most people, even the nerds I works with, do not want to walk around with a USB around their necks. I had originally wanted to get some fancy VIP embossed fancy nametags.
Then the reality of how much time I had hit. Then Hurricane Sandy came around. Boston fared well, but it put a damper on a few of my plans and the night before the event I realized that I had not made the name tags or ordered the party bracelets. I went to an office supply store, but they did not have what I needed. The guy recommended I check out a party supply store.

Now this was on Halloween. Party supply stores often sell costumes. The place was a zoo. But that was good, as I wandered around looking for the bracelets (which I eventually found and bought a pile of so that I would have them on hand), I came across bags of glow sticks. It was perfect. The event was going to be held in a lowly lit club, I could hang them with the USB drives and make people wear them so they wouldn’t lose the thumb drive. It was perfect.

Not to mention that snapping of the tube to make them glow is kind of satisfying after a long few weeks.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

