cleverchickadee


Kickin’ Cranberry Chutney: a Recipe by quornflour

One of my very most favorite things about holiday food is cranberries. I freaking L-O-V-E love them.

I like cranberry juice ok, but I love cranberry sauce. So much in fact I buy them and put them in the freezer so I have them months later. I make tons of extra cranberry sauce and can it so I can enjoy it in the summer. I even eat the canned stuff.

The other day when we were sitting around talking about having a charity lunch with the theme east meets west, I offered to make cranberry chutney. Ok, I also offered to make Curry Mussels, which are delicious, but since I already made them, it was not going to make much of a new recipe blog post.

I remember making some form of a cranberry chutney when I was in middle school maybe, but I wanted something with more of a kick, so here goes.

Remember I made this for a charity lunch, so I made a lot.

  • 24 oz (2 bags) of cranberries – frozen
  • 2 oranges
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • ½ teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon ground cloves
  • ½ teaspoon ground cumin

You also need a blender or a food processor…

Zest the orange and the lemon, trim off some of the pith, you don’t need to remove it all, and if your fruits aren’t too pithy you don’t need to bother with it.

Then everything in the blender (or food processor) and whirr it up.

It is tart and sweet and then leaves a little kick at the end.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

