cleverchickadee


Orange Marinade: a Recipe by quornflour

It actually was not long ago that I did not even know how to cook a pork chop. From my childhood all I could really remember is dry baked fairly plain pork chops served up with applesauce. There was nothing wrong with them necessarily, they just were not very interesting as food.

This past year I stopped purchasing meat from the grocery store. As a result I am at the hands of a meat CSA, one that has a lot of pork. Luckily I am not anti-pork.

That said, the first time I got pork chops, I looked at them, scratched my head and said, “Ahhh? Hmm.” and then put them in the freezer.

A short while later TxK was visiting and we were making dinner. I asked her if she knew how to cook a pork chop, after she laughed in shame of me for not knowing how, she told me that it was pretty much the same as cooking a steak.

As a point of record, I am pretty sure she is also the person who taught me how to cook a steak on anything that wasn’t a grill.

I have since cooked a few pork chops and they were all delicious.

This go around I decided I would try something a little different and marinade them first.

Here is what I used:

  • 2 pork chops (I think you could also use this on any meat or even a faux meat)
  • 1 small naval orange
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 lime
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tablespoon of Lighthouse Freeze-dried red onion
  • 1 tablespoon of Lighthouse Freeze-dried green onion
  • ¼ teaspoon of Kosher salt
  • Black pepper
  • Peanut oil – if you are going to pan fry them (if you want to broil or bake this you can also do that for delicious results)

You are going to want these to marinade for at least an hour, so give yourself some time in advance.

  1. Place your pork chops in a glass container
  2. Zest entire orange, lemon and lime over the pork
  3. Cut each fruit in half and squeeze juices over pork
  4. Add garlic, onions, salt and pepper
  5. Cover pork chops and let sit for at least an hour
  6. Bring them to room temp before cooking
  7. In a cast iron skillet fill about a quarter to half inch of peanut oil
  8. Cook until juices run clear (160ᴼ is the recommended cooked temp for pork)
  9. Remove from heat, cover and let rest
  10. Serve warm

This will have a strong orange flavor goes very well with applesauce.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Sounds delicious!

Comment by Sara




Leave a Reply

