cleverchickadee


Quiche: Socially Acceptable Breakfast Pie, a recipe by quornflour

A couple of years back while on a road trip, I was staying with a friend. When I woke up in the morning she had made a delicious basic quiche for breakfast and I thought, “Wow, I have fancy friends.”

I am not sure why my brain associates quiche with fancy, but it does. Maybe because it is French? Are the French fancy? As a kid most of the French people I saw were the French Canadians on vacation. They stood out because they were the pale fat men on the beach wearing speedos.

At any rate, I like quiche, and honestly, it is not all that terribly difficult to make, though I have had a few challenges when figuring it out… I feel like I have perfected the recipe now, which is not to say I will not ever change it.

Here is what you need:

  • 1 pie crust (one of these days I am going to make some, but the premade ones are fine)
  • ½ pound (about 2.5 Cups according to my cheese grater) Swiss cheese grated
  • 3 eggs
  • ½ Cup ½&½ or cream
  • 1 Cup milk – I use 2%
  • ¼ C grated parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 Cup of chopped mushrooms (button, crimini or portabella are my favorites for this)
  • 3 Cups baby spinach or chopped full leaf spinach
  • Black pepper

Here is what you are going to do:

  1. Heat your oven to 375⁰
  2. In a small frying pan melt a tablespoon of the butter and turn to a medium heat, add the chopped mushrooms and sauté them until the water starts to reduce and they brown a little
  3. In a large frying pan add the rest of the butter melt it then add the spinach.
  4. The goal here is to reduce the water content in both, so you want to cook them hot but not too much, the spinach should still be bright and not brown when it is done. You can also spread it out on a place a dry it if you have challenges getting the water low before it over cooks.
  5. Next take your pie crust and put it in the bottom of your pie pan and pinch the edges to make it pretty.
  6. In a large mixing bowl, beat your eggs, add the milk, cream and black pepper and get everything nice and mixed in.
  7. Once it is all mixed together add the cheeses (I generally add the parmesan first, mix it in and then add the Swiss).
  8. Add your veggies. Mix it all together.
  9. Pour contents into the pie crust.
  10. Bake for about 45 minutes to an hour (you want the top to get golden brown)

Serve warm.

If you have picky eaters or you are having people over and you want to get fancy with it”

Sauté a variety of veggies like, asparagus, zucchini, mushrooms, kale, sun dried tomatoes, onions, peppers and/or spinach…

Add one egg ½ a cup of milk, ½ cup of Swiss cheese to the base recipe above and cook it plain. Then serve it as a Quiche Bar, everyone can choose their toppings as they like.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

