cleverchickadee


Guest Blog: Apple Pie by cleverchickadee

My faux kid sister Sara has been staying with me while she waits for her apartment to be ready to move into. At one point she said something about making pie, so of course I let her stay.

One day she called me to see how to relight my pilot light. I was headed back home after a trip and was sad when I got home to find that she was not relighting the pilot light for which to make me pie. I got over it though, because then she made me apple pie and pumpkin pie. Both were super delicious, so I understand that you are totally jealous. I am here to tell you though that things could be worse, because now you can go make pie for yourself.

Hooray!

Here is what you need and how to do it:

Ingredients:

¾ cup sugar

2 tbsp flour

¼ tsp salt

1/8 tsp nutmeg

¾ tsp cinnamon

6 Cortland apples

Some butter

1 egg

Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees F. Mix dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Peel, core, and chop the apples in any way you prefer. Sometimes I like big chunks, sometimes I like tiny chunks. Make your crust the way you prefer. I leave out the crust recipe because I was lame and used the Pillsbury pre-made roll-out dough. So put your first crust in a 9″ pie pan. Mix apple chunks a handful at a time in the dry mixture, coating the chunks. Fill the bottom layer of the pie crust and then mound the rest of the apples in the middle. I don’t like to put the excess dry mixture in the pie, but you might want to if you want an extra gooey/sweet pie. Dot the top of the apples with a few pats of butter. I like to do four around the edges and one in the middle. With your finger, apply a little bit of water to the edge of the bottom crust. Carefully place the top crust over the apples and seal the edges with the bottom crust. Flute, fold, roll, or use a fork (whichever you choose). Beat an egg and brush it over the top crust lightly. Sprinkle some sugar on top and poke airs holes with a fork. Pop the thing in the oven. After 15 minutes, cover the edges of the crust with a crust guard or tin foil. Let the pie finish for 25-30 more minutes. And voila! Apple pie.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Guest Blog: Apple Pie […]

Pingback by Garlic Toast « cleverchickadee

Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google,
and found that it’s truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll
be grateful if you continue this in future. Many
people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Comment by aromatizador de varetas




Leave a Reply

