cleverchickadee


Mozz Ballz by quornflour

I was driving home past Dial-A-Pizza, yes, really, and I thought to myself, “self, they have really good mozzarella sticks.”

Then I totally wanted mozzarella sticks, because the one time I had mozzarella sticks from there, they were really quite delicious.

I did not want to order them though because then I would need to also get a pizza and I wasn’t that hungry and I didn’t want to be disappointed by my memory of delicious mozzarella sticks.

So then I realized that I had mozzarella balls (cue, “it says balls on your forehead”) in the fridge at home.

So on I went.

When I got home I put a few cups of peanut (or other high temp) oil in a small frying or sauce pan and turned it up to bring it to temp, then I grabbed:

  • 1 cup of bread crumbs (one of these days I will post some easy and delicious recipes for bread crumbs)
  • ¼ teaspoon of salt
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon “Italian seasoning” (equal parts: parsley, oregano, basil, garlic – all dry)

I mixed it all together in a small bowl.

Then I got an egg and beat it in a separate bowl.

Then I got the mozzarella balls from the fridge and:

  1. dropped them in the egg coating them thoroughly
  2. put them in the bread crumbs coating thoroughly
  3. using a fine wire mesh strainer (helps prevent the breadcrumbs from making a mess of your oil) lowered them into the oil and held them there until they got golden brown

Serve warm with red sauce. You can also freeze these (on a tray before co-mingling) and reheat in the oven.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

