cleverchickadee


It is Like Cake and Donut in a Muffin: a Recipe by quornflour

This morning when I got up, there was a chill in the air. Fall is upon us.

I decided that I wanted muffins; trouble was I did not want berry muffins. Berries seemed somehow wrong given the change of seasons.

Anyway, I wanted donut muffins, but I could not find the recipe. I scoured my email to see if I could find it, but no luck.

Yeah, yeah, I can hear you screaming, “Get to the point already!”

I scoured an old notebook and the internet for a recipe similar to what I could remember from my childhood. I did find an oatmeal cookie recipe with “George Washington wished he was a Quaker” written below it.

I found one that was similar and then made a few adjustments and they turned out pretty delicious.

Here is what you need for 12 muffins:

  • ½ cup coconut oil
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoons ground nutmeg, to taste
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 2/3 cups Flour

Here is what ya do:

  1. Heat the oven to 400.
  2. Grease and flower or add liners to your muffin tins.
  3. In a medium sized mixing bowl: mix coconut oil and sugars together until they make a body scrub (seriously you could stop there and take a bath and end up all sweet smelling)
  4. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until fully blended.
  5. In a large mixing bowl combine dry ingredients.
    1. This is where I realized that I had run out of nutmeg, probably while making Mexican Hot Chocolate cake or Apple Sauce. So I opened up the kitchen window and hollered out to my neighbor who was in her back yard. Yeah that is the kind of neighborhood I live in. She thought she had nutmeg, but it turned out that she did not, and then I knocked on another neighbor’s door and she had nutmeg, which was good because nutmeg is pretty important in this recipe, anything else would make them taste like something else.
  6. Mix everything together. It will be a little thicker than you might think almost like cookies, these muffins are kinda dense.
  7. Use the two spoon method to fill up your muffin cups.
  8. Sprinkle sugar over the top (you can also mix some nutmeg with the sugar – ½ teaspoon nutmeg and a ¼ cup of sugar)

  1. Bake for 15-20 minutes – until a toothpick comes out clean and they are golden on the top.
  2. Serve warm with butter.
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

