cleverchickadee


Pack a Lunch by quornflour

I prefer to bring my lunch if I can. I like the cost savings and more so I like knowing what is in my lunch.

Sometimes I do not have a ton of time to make something, so I have a few staples that I can keep in the freezer or fridge as necessary and are pretty simple to make.

Recently I discovered Lighthouse freeze dried herbs, which are far better in taste than your typical dried herbs. Especially when it comes to things like garlic and onion, which never really seem to taste like the real thing when you get the regular dried version. I like them because I can just use a little in a pinch and do not have to make a big mess cutting them for just a little bit. I have always found them in the produce section of the grocery store.

No I was not paid to say that, it is true.

This recipe is super simple and can easily be made in one pot, here is what you will need:

  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • ¾ C Basmati or Jasmine Rice
  • 1 ¾ C water
  • ½ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon freeze dried garlic (or 2-3 cloves)
  • 2 teaspoon freeze dried onion (or 1 tablespoon – finely chopped red onion)
  • 1 teaspoon freeze dried basil (or 6 leaves)
  • 1 tablespoon freeze dried Jalapenos (or ½ a pepper – finely chopped, the dried peppers have a pretty low heat but a great flavor, use the chili flakes and hot sauce to pump up the heat)
  • 2 tablespoons of your favorite hot sauce
  • 1 can of black beans (sub red or white also delicious)
  • 1 can fire roasted tomatoes
  • Salt to taste

Heat up a sauce pan, add the oil bring to temp. Then add the rice and spices and mix until the rice becomes translucent.

Add the water and hot sauce and put on low/simmer and leave it alone to cook. When the rice is almost done and there is still a little water not absorbed, add the can of beans, the tomatoes and any additional salt wanted for taste. Leave on heat until the tomatoes and beans are warm and serve.

This keeps great in the fridge, freezes well and is delicious on its own as a complete meal or as a side dish. You can also top it with cheese or sour cream, or both if you want to add dairy.

Since I hate microwaves, I just let mine get to room temp and eat.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

