cleverchickadee


Too Hot to Cook by quornflour

A few weeks back I was out to dinner and had this fish with mango chutney on it. It was quite good.

I decided to make something similar, so I mixed up some avocados, mango and lime… and it was delicious.

This weekend I had some friends coming over for dinner and decided that I would make it again and make it with some fish.

It has been really hot here and I do not have central air, so I decided that I did not really want to cook, even so much as to broil fish. So I decided that I would try a ceviche since there is lime juice in the salad, I was planning to pair the salad with a scrod anyway.

I had never made ceviche so I was a little nervous; everything I had read had 2 basic recommendations:

  • Use the freshest sashimi grade if possible, fish
  • “Cook” the fish for at least 8 hours

So I figured I could easily do that. Plus I decided I would just “cook” it overnight, that way I did not have to worry about sleeping in on Sunday and the fish would get enough time in the lime juice.

For the start of the fish, you will need:

  • 11-12 limes
  • 2 pounds of scrod. I used haddock.

I started with about 11 limes which I halved and juiced.

Then I removed the skin the fish and then cut it down into bite sized chunks.

Since I was using it as an entrée I cut it about the size of half a large marshmallow, if you are using this as a side or a dip, you should cut them into small marshmallow size.

Put the cut fish into a shallow dish (like a refrigerator dish or an eight in glass dish) and pour the lime juice over and stir in. Make sure that you cover all of the fish and can spread it all out. Leave it in the fridge overnight, or for at least 8 hours.

A few hours before eating you will want to start the next step.

For this you will need:

  • 2 mangos
  • 2 avocados
  • ½ Cup blueberries
  • Small bunch of cilantro
  • 1 lime
  • Salt
  • 3 scallions (optional)

Skin and chop your mangos and avocados.

Cut mangos and avocados into small 1/2 inch chunks.

Chop cilantro & Scallions.

Zest and juice your lime.

Put all in a bowl and mix with a pinch of salt and stir together.

If you are a vegetarian or vegan, or do not have access to fresh fish, or even if you just want to, you can just add the blueberries and serve as it is.

Drain the juice and liquid from the fish which should now be opaque.

Mix everything together and let sit for at least another hour or two.

When you are ready to serve it mix in the blueberries, I suppose you could mix them in earlier, but I had forgotten that I was going to add them in until after so that is why I added them in later.

I also did not add the scallions in until I was having it as leftovers for lunch the next day.

Turned out super delicious, if I do say so myself. My guests had seconds, so that is good right?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

