cleverchickadee


Apartment Garden, Episode 3: Planting by quornflour

Last summer I attempted a little balcony garden planting seeds and swapping seedlings.

I was successful in the indoor sprouting phase and even getting them up to plantable size, but then I was gone and the weather was crap and the place I wanted to grow them was not really the best spot.

Overall however: I failed.

This year I am trying it again and have done things a little differently:

First, I rounded up some neighborly help from another resident in my building, my friend and neighbor Melissa. This way there will (hopefully) be at least one person around to tend to the plants.

Second, I did not plant seeds, and rather picked things up here and there, friends with seedlings, Melissa had a few she planted and got from friends, and I picked up a few at farmers markets.

Third, I found a new spot to plant everything. I asked, (ok more like announced) my land lady if I could use part of the back yard to plant. Not only did she agree, though she is a greater fan of roses and flowers than veggies, but she also offered up two plastic pools that were otherwise going to be trashed and a number of old puts that she had. I also managed to get some pots from my neighbor.

So after all of this was sorted out, I headed to the nursery and bought dirt. I had a fair amount of dirt from last year so I mixed my new dirt with my old dirt. My neighbors all commented on the smell. I had picked up organic soil, which had a much richer smell than the soil they had used.

Next I sorted out buckets, some needed drainage, so I used a screw driver and a mallet to puncture a few holes in the bottoms, the holey buckets would then be placed in the pools so that the excess water is not wasted and on hot days can be watered from the bottom without risk of burning the leaves if things get too dry. I will need to keep an eye on this with rain to ensure I do not end up with a breeding ground for mosquitos.

Of course after I got everything in it has decided to rain for the week. It is good though, I need to add drainage to one of the smaller individual pots and it buys a little time to get marigolds to help with pest control. In the few days that they have been in their pots, they all seem happier.

I am optimistic.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This is awesome!!!!! I am starting this tomorrow with my children

Comment by Kayti




Leave a Reply

