cleverchickadee


How my VitaMix Got Me to Love Cauliflower by quornflour

When people ask me if I like cauliflower, my typical answer is no. It is not a taste thing, it is just some combo of the texture, color and taste, something about the specific combination just does not work for my brain.

Enter the VitaMix stage right.

My friend was coming over for dinner and I had these amazing organic pork chops and I wanted something to go along with them, the weather had been hot and potatoes seemed just a little too heavy.

For the week prior I had been attempting to blend everything, because I can.

So I figured I would try the whole cauliflower masher thing, the VitaMix was sure to pulverize the texture right out of it… so yes that is what I did. I think Cauliflower is pretty soft and one could probably manage similar results in a regular blender…

First off I chopped a head of cauliflower into 4 pieces, and then steamed it until it was soft.

Next I put the cauliflower and about ¼ cup of the water it was steamed in in the blender.

Then I added ¼ C of milk, and 2 garlic cloves.

And whirrrrrrrrr!

Then I added 2 table spoons of grated parmesan cheese and whirred it once more.

This is when it gets crazy…

In a large skillet, I melted a tablespoon of butter then poured the cauliflower mixture in and mixed it a bit to remove some of the moisture and mix in the butter…

Seriously, this was good… and the texture, like puddin’.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Love “mashed” cauliflower too! I like it fine, but ever since making it this way, I can’t eat it any other way.

Comment by emiLyQ




Leave a Reply

