cleverchickadee


Road Trip – Episode 3: Road Food by quornflour

It seems there are a lot of people who seem to think of Road Food when on a road trip to be primarily junk food or fast food. This need not be the case.

 

I have some friends who find the local BBQ of the place where they are while others stick with the same fast food chains. There was a time where my road trips were filled with corn nuts and red licorice.

Now I like to a mix. I have a bag with an ice pack that holds bread, peanut butter and jelly and at any time a variety of other snacky foods. I like to maintain foods that do not require utensils or extreme preparation.

When I land some place I like to see if there is a locally owned place that is especially good, or a diner, or if visiting friends: gather groceries and make a nice meal.

My first night on the road I stayed with my aunt, we hit the grocery store and prepared a feast of cheese, salmon, veggies and a host of other finger friendly foods.

Last night we had a “Mexican Feast” of soft shelled tacos and strawberry mango margaritas made from scratch and not too sweet.

Really I am just telling you this, not because I have anything profound to say, or because you can eat healthy on the road but really because I want to show you some pictures of some delicious food I have had on this trip.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

