cleverchickadee


Road Trip, Episode 1: On the Road Again by quornflour

So we have been silent for a while, busy really with everything. I spend two weeks on the road for work, which was good, but busy. Then when I returned I had other stuff to catch up on and settle into place so that I could get ready for vacation.

Where I work you start with 3 weeks of vacation time. In the past I have used maybe a week at a time here or there, worked part of the time and carried a week or so over and then repeated.

This year I decided that since I had carried a fair amount over, and I started getting a fourth week I should take a real summer vacation. I love road trips, and I have a handful of states left to get to.

The Great American Road Trip seems to be a bit of a lost art. I do not know that many people who just head out on the road to see what is out there.

I have this need to get to all 50 states, I am fairly certain it is something I get from my Grandmother Marie and her sister Helen. I believe that just because you can travel all over the world, which is great, does not mean you should not travel all over the US as well. I know people who have been to more foreign countries than states. The US takes up such a large chunk of land; really you should try and see as much of it as you can.

Currently left I have:

  • Arkansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Kansas
  • Oklahoma
  • New Mexico
  • Texas
  • Arizona
  • Nebraska
  • Missouri
  • Iowa

My current goal is to cut 4 states off that list. I have three weeks, but I also have another part of that plan.

Years ago I had a blog on the now defunct blogging site Vox. There I became friends with this fellow crafter Flamestitch who makes super cool bags. If you do not have one, go get one, right now, I will wait.

So I have a Jeep Wrangler: the Helen Marie. One day I decided that it would be super awesome to have a pink Naugahyde soft top for my Jeep. I figured I could probably figure it out and make it myself, but I also thought that it might not be such a bad idea to talk to someone who really knows the materials. This is where Flamestitch comes in. She comes from a family of upholsterers, people who know what you can and cannot do with certain fabrics, what fabrics and threads to use, what machines to use. I figured, this is the person I want to work with on this. Trouble was, I had never actually met her. So I contacted her to see if she would be game, and she was.

So I decided to take 3 weeks off, head to Columbus create the top and then see how much time I have left after that. To the road I go.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I was sad that you were going on vacation so soon after I started my internship since you seem like a really cool person. But now I am super excited to read about your awesome road trip. 🙂

Comment by Sara J




Leave a Reply

