cleverchickadee


Trail Blazers by quornflour

I like cookies. When I make cookies, I like to put part of the batch aside in the freezer or the fridge for later. This way, when I want a cookie, I can just make one. It also keeps me from the whole batch. Sometimes I make a few and give a plate to my neighbor; sometimes I make the whole batch and bring them to work.

Today I decided I wanted a cookie, but I did not have any dough sitting in the fridge, so I decided to make some Trail Blazers.

I took a recipe I had used before and made a few tweaks, then a few more. Here is what you do:

Preheat your oven to 350⁰

In a bowl cream together:

  • 1 C Honey
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 C packed Brown Sugar
  • ¾ C Coconut Oil (alternately use: Bacon Butter, Butter or Shortening)
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

In another bowl sift together:

  • 1 ½ C flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • ½ teaspoon Ginger Powder

Add the dry ingredients into the wet and mix them together, then add some trail mix:

  • ½ C Shaved Coconut
  • ½ C Dried Apricots cut into 6 – 8 pieces each
  • ½ C Chopped Pecans
  • ½ C Sunflower Seeds
  • ½ C Chocolate Chips
  • ½ C Craisins

Once you get all of that mixed together add 3 – 4 Cups of Whole Oats

When you have all of this mixed together, put globs about 2 Tablespoon sized well-spaced on a greased cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes or until golden brown on the top. If you like a more not quite burned sugar flavor bake a little longer.

Cool on a rack and enjoy!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

