cleverchickadee


Apartment Garden, Episode 1: Seedling Starters by quornflour

It might be a tad late to be starting these, but it has been such a cold winter, and I was going out of town with no one to water them daily that I am just getting around to them now. I am sure it will be fine. Around Easter is great because you may have more egg cartons sitting around than you typically would.

It is a super easy little project that uses mostly recycled stuff that you may already have around the house.

Here is what you need:

  • Cardboard Egg Cartons
  • Lipped Cookie Tray
  • Potting Soil
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Seeds
  • Scissors
  • Sharpie

Start by cutting the cartons in half; leave the tab on the egg cup side on. Place the cup site in the top and place them in your lipped tray. I used aluminum ¼ cake trays.

Now, before you say anything, note that I actually fished these out of my neighbors recycling, so it is kind of the same as already having them, I am just giving them a second life. I would have used baking trays, but I only have one and it does not have lips so it would have just made a mess.

Use the Sharpie and write on the tabs that you did not cut off to label the type of seeds you are planting.

Next, fill the cups with dirt, do not press it down but make sure all of the cups are well filled; you do not have to be neat about it. However, if you have a tendency to spill dirt, like I do, I recommend doing this par outside: saves on clean-up too.

Once the cups are filled sprinkle the tops with the cayenne pepper.

Yes, really. This will keep bugs away.

Make a little finger hole in the dirt in the center of each cup and put seeds in. I always put more than one seed in each hole in case one does not sprout. This might not be necessary.

Cover the seeds with the dirt filling in the holes and press it down so it is packed.

Then water the cups, this might take a few passes as you want to get the cardboard wet and let it soak up water to make sure that the cups do not dry out. You will want to water these 1 – 2 times a day and keep them in a warm place that does not have a risk of frost, like in your house. I like to put them near a window and a heater, so when they start to sprout they get sunlight.

Happy Sprouting!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I recycled my ice trays I don’t use anymore and that helps for not needing a base layer. Good tip on cayenne pepper and how many times to water- I had not been following that and mine got dried out 😦

Comment by Jen

ice trays work too, I like the egg cartons because they hold water, and they drain. you can also water based on how wet the cardboard is. When it comes time to pant them, you don’t need to take them out of the cardboard entirely, but more about that later…

Comment by quornflour

You can also use 1/2 eggshell then fill with dirt. Super easy to lift out, and eggshell has good dose of calcium for baby plants.

Comment by Pauline

I never have enough half egg-shells, I save my eggs shells for the dirt… more on that later…

Comment by quornflour

[…] Apartment Garden, Episode 1: Seedling Starters […]

Pingback by Apartment Garden, Episode 2: Seedling Swap « cleverchickadee

[…] summer I attempted a little balcony garden planting seeds and swapping […]

Pingback by Apartment Garden, Episode 3: Planting « cleverchickadee




Leave a Reply

