cleverchickadee


Sprouting, Episode 1: Quinoa by texaskillet

On my journey to eating more raw food, I read some good stuff about sprouting.

It went a little something like this:

GROW ORGANIC SPROUTS, cuz it’s fun and good for YOU!

Sprouts are a superfood and may be the most nutritious food on mother earth and are not expensive in the least. You can sprout lots of things. Nearly any type of seed, grain, bean or legume. Some favorites to sprout are: alfalfa, broccoli, clover, fenugreek, lentil, mung bean, mustard, quinoa and sunflower. Sunflower sprouts are one of the few plant sources which provide vitamin D for the vegans and vegetarians. I like that since I am always low on vit. D in the extraordinarily drab fall and winter of the PNW. I blame this on being a relocated Texan. J

For my first adventure in sprouting I decided to go with something that I had on hand. I had no packaging left since I had already transferred it to a storage container so I didn’t even know if it was organic or seasoned or … ?

Who cares I say!!! It’s an experiment after all. The thing about experiments is that you go into a thing knowing that it might not work so your disappointment is not all that huge when it doesn’t.

All you need:

  1. Jar with lid. I prefer the Mason type so that you have the ring and the seal portion that are separate. You won’t need the seal portion for this, just the ring.
  2. Some screen, or cheese cloth or any material that you can drain water through and keep other stuff out.
    1. You could potentially poke holes in the seal portion of the Mason jar lid, but that seems wasteful.
    2. I personally used a window screen that I had stored in the garage after my oldest son cut a hole in it for some unknown teenage rot brain reason. Woot.
  3. Quinoa (in this episode)
  4. Water
  5. Clock

To start, put the desired amount of quinoa in the jar. Place your screen over the opening and screw on the ring. Rinse the quinoa in the jar a few times, then fill the water past the level of the quinoa.

Let the quinoa soak for three hours.

After the three hours has passed, drain the liquid through the screen and then set the jar back on the counter for another 8 hours. Of course you’ll see sprouting action within about one to two hours and you can decide just how sprouted you want them before you serve them up.

After 8 hours you will see something like this:

I like the full sprout of 8 hours. You might wonder how to serve this lovely sprout. I’ll give you my dish. I used it like a spaghetti noodle. In the RAW cooking world, you can’t warm anything to over 115 degrees. Otherwise it is considered cooked. So, I warmed a pot of water to 110 degrees, turned off the heat and then plunged the quinoa in for a warm water bath.

Then I took my RAW sauce consisting of fresh tomato, basil, avocado, oregano, garlic, salt and pepper from the blender (not cooked) put that on top and then added my one cooked item, vegans and vegetarians: close your ears, hot Italian sausage. I ain’t gonna lie, it was good.

I hope you have fun with this sprouting thing should you decide to try it and look for follow up posts. I also think that kids will dig this since they seem to like to watch things transition (plus it’s super easy). Right now I have lentils on the counter, I’ll be back with a post on those. J

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love sprouting. It is so easy and fun!

Comment by veggiegrettie

totally..somehow it feels so right to sprout things and then eat them. Sprouts seem to (so far) have a somewhat common flavor, though there are variances, it seems like this would make them a fairly dependable addition to many many things. What have you sprouted?? I am continually looking for new ideas. 🙂

Comment by texaskillet




Leave a Reply

