cleverchickadee


Spinach Taco Salad by quornflour

Sometimes when I am in the grocery store I pick up seasoning packets to see what is in them, apparently I bought one for taco meat seasoning. I figured I should use it. I mean why not? Seems silly to toss, especially since it said “hot” on it.

Today I figured I would make a taco salad with what bits I had in the fridge.

First take a large skillet and add about a tablespoon of olive oil and heat it up on high. Then toss in 4 cloves of garlic, coarsely chopped and ½ a red onion. When the onions become translucent add a pound of leanest ground beef (or turkey if you prefer) and the seasoning packet (ignore the directions on the back).

When the beef is browned, add a can of RoTel and a can of black beans and cook until everything is heated through.

Separately chop up a few tomatoes, an avocado and some spinach.

I like to pile in a bowl in this order:

  1. Spinach
  2. Tomatoes
  3. Beef
  4. Grated cheese
  5. Avocado

But how you do it, is up to you.

It is super tasty and great for iron, protein and fiber. If you wanted to you could even put it in a tortilla with some rice and make yourself a burrito to go!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

