cleverchickadee


Organic Sewing by quornflour

I find that folks often offer up that they have a sewing machine and do not really know how to use it. I am pretty sure they are hoping I will offer them lessons.

Some folks even outright ask, or ask if I know someone, hoping I might offer.

Thing is, unless you want to know how to make a basic quilt; I am not going to teach you.

It is not that I am being snobbish, it is just that well: my sewing skills are crass. I can make stuff, but my process tends to be organic, I just put stuff together until I end up with whatever it was I wanted to make.

I look at the way things are made, where seams are, what the shape of the cuts are and then just wing it.

There are no rules.

Like the other day, I was thinking I needed a tote, but then when I was looking at the fabric, I decided a little overnight bag for an upcoming vacation with matching tote was a much better idea. I dug out some D rings and zippers and started cutting fabric and assembling. In the bag I had this great bag that I can use for my upcoming vacation, but if you want the pattern, well I would have to retrace my steps to figure out what it was I did in the first place.

So if you want to learn to sew, I say just go for it. Unless you plan on going on Project Runway or something, the technique does not really matter, from what I have seen on PR I am not even sure technique always matters. There isn’t a right or wrong, there just is.

Sit back, have fun and go for it!

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

