cleverchickadee


Raw Nut Butter – home smooshed by texaskillet

 

Well… that is it. I got tired of looking for raw nut butter that was not made by some brand I didn’t trust.

So I decided it was time to make it myself. Yay!!!

I love finding new excuses to use my grinder attachment and my Kitchen Aid mixer. So fun!

Bonus: super simple squirrel

 

To start: Purchase as many oz’s as you want of any raw nut, I like to get mine at Trader Joe’s.

I know it may seem strange that I shop there given their love of whole wheat and all things Mango,

both of which I do not love, but hey, I am not the sort to hold a grudge.

 

-Bust out the mixer, add your grinder attachment

-SOAK your NUTS – This removes those nasty little phytates we talked about before

-Slowly feed in the nuts (you don’t want to clog your kitchen appliance)

-Take the shreds and then switch to regular mixer mode

(remove grinder, replace cap, insert mixing hand/hook/beater)

-Start mixing your shreds to a creamy consistency

-If you find that it is too dry, feel free to add some Olive Oil

(more nutty flavor and healthful monounsaturated fats; about 75%)

-Then if you like your nut butter ready to go out of the jar, you can add some Raw honey to the mix.

 

Last step: Find a sealable chalice suitable for your bounty and seal it up tight and store it in the fridge.

Hint: It is rumored that the upside down storage for nut butters makes it so all the oil is not at the top when you go to use it.

It is seriously that easy and way delicious.

 

Then all you need is some Udi’s GF bread and you are sooo soo ready for the best peanut butter toast EVER… oh and a cup of coffee. J

 

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Did you use your meat grinder attachment?? Awesome.

I can confirm that storing nut butter upside-down works!! If you pre-stir it stays better… stirred.

Comment by Misha

wow. looks tasty. i’m going to try it! i eat so much of this stuff. but i’ll have to get a grinder attachment. also – how long does it last?
p.s. so excited to discover your blog!

Comment by paige




Leave a Reply

