cleverchickadee


Some Raw & Some Grilled Cheese by texaskillet

Now that we are adults and we like to think that we are more sophisticated (not sure who we are trying to fool), we like to eat fancier food.

Or at least we like to pretend that we want to eat fancier food.

A few nights ago, on Thursday I went to a raw desserts preparation class (can’t really call it cooking). I learned a few things that were fairly interesting and I tried a few things that were pretty yummy.

I also tried some stuff that was not what I would ever consider dessert. Cacao beans are not yummy, they passed those out for us to “snack” on during the class. I can honestly say that if I never ate another raw Cacao bean in my lifetime I would be okay with it. Bark like texture, bitter taste, not really a chocolate tone there. Hahaha!

Even the desserts that were made with Cacao and sweetened with honey or agave were not sweet enough. Unless of course you are hermit who hasn’t had table sugar or any dessert from the local French bakery, favorite coffee shop, neighbor kids birthday party, etc. I know that you are probably expected to enjoy this stuff after you have readjusted your palate. HarumpH!

So even though the photos I took with my phone (battery on the camera died in class) really blew in any kind of clarity department, I still wanted to share the recipe that I thought was spectacular and that I can’t wait to make at home and share with my friends. I promise to take pictures of my homemade attempt and come back and post them here. J

CHIA PUDDING w/Blueberry Cream

Needs for the Orange Cream chia pudding:

½ cup of Chia seeds (black for the best benefit to the female endocrine system, red for the male, and white for everyone)

2-3 oranges (3/4 cup of juice)

¾ cup of almond mylk

1-2 Tablespoons of raw honey or agave

2 Tablespoons of coconut butter, melted

Juice the oranges. Blend oranges, almond mylk, coconut butter and raw honey in blender pour into a bowl, then slowly shake in the chia seeds to said bowl, being sure to stir as you go so they don’t clump. Set aside for 30 minutes to 1 hour until liquid is fully absorbed by the seeds.

Needs for the Blueberry Cream:

1 ½ cups blueberries

½ cup of cashews, soaked for 30 minutes or more (this removes the phytates– enzyme inhibitors that make nuts hard to digest)

¾ cup coconut water or pure water (if you use pure water, just add a little extra honey to the recipe)

2 Tablespoons raw honey or agave

3 Tablespoons coconut butter, melted

1 Tablespoon of Maca powder (From the Andes, this hardy root provides adaptogenic qualities and balances the system, increases strength and stamina and has shown to improve memory…and a whole bounty of other worth while effects)

2 Tablespoons of Lucuma powder (From South America, sweet, with a maple syrup flavor and high in beta-carotenes, iron, niacin, phosphorus, calcium and fiber)

½ tsp of vanilla powder (spendy stuff, see if you can find it in bulk and just buy what you need)

Pinch of Himalayan salt

Blend all ingredients in high power blender until smooth, layer alternately in a cup, bowl or service item of your choise with chia pudding.

Chill for a few minutes or enjoy right away.

I really thought this was the best thing of the night; I wanted more than just the little sample they gave us. Of course after the class we were given a survey to relay back to them our particular interests, what we thought went well and what we had been eating. Ahhh the journey to eating 51% raw food shall be interesting. How do I know this you may wonder? On the survey there was one question which asked specifically if I had eaten: dairy, meat or eggs in the last three months. Hahahahahah I had a good laugh at this and drew a line through them all.

I wonder if this counts and if I now have bad food Karma?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

