cleverchickadee


Readjusting Cake by quornflour

A while back I made chocolate cake, then I rejiggered it and made citrus spice cake.

Around that time a friend of mine posted on facebook about Mexican Hot Chocolate, so today I decided I would make a cake, but decided I would make it with a little kick, it is basically the same as the chocolate recipe but with a few added spices, super delicious.

Here is what you will need for 2 cake rounds.

  • 3 Cups of flour
  • 2 Cups of sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 6 Tablespoons cocoa
  • 2-3 teaspoons cayenne pepper
  • 2 teaspoons nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2/3 Cups of oil
  • 2 teaspoons vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons Kahlua
  • 2 Cups room temp coffee

In a large bowl combine the dry ingredients mix with a whisk.

In a smaller bowl mix the wet ingredients.

Pour wet ingredients into the dry ones and mix with whisk.

Pour into greased and floured round cake dishes and bake at 350⁰ for 30 minutes or until a wooden toothpick comes out dry.

Let cool on a rack and frost as desired.

Pardon the photo, I leant out my favorite food lens, but I get it back tomorrow!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is in my oven as I type. I think I will let it cool overnight and frost it tomorrow. I will let you know how it turns out.

Comment by JediJean

Awesome, I do not have anyone at my house to try it and I didn’t bring it to work with me because my morning was crazy.
Let me know what you think, I want to try it again with fresh pepper juice.

Comment by quornflour

This was the bomb. At first I was worried when I ate a piece that stuck to the pan and was assulted by the cayanne. As soon as I got the frosting on there it just made for the perfect blend of sweet and spicy and chocolate. Trifecta!

I cheated and used real butter in my frosting, next time I will try it with vegan butter.

Comment by JediJean

I am glad you liked it, when I first tried a little crumb I had the same reaction! I also found that the second day it was even better.
I am not sure if it matters if you use a vegan frosting, sometimes recipies just happen to be vegan.

Comment by quornflour

[…] originally was going to make a Mexican Hot Chocolate inspired cake, but on the drive home from the grocery store, the plan morphed and what resulted was […]

Pingback by Dark Chocolate Ginger Cake, a Recipe | cleverchickadee




Leave a Reply

