cleverchickadee


Jelly Roll Quilt Complete by quornflour
March 19, 2011, 9:30 PM
Filed under: Clever Chickadees, craft, project, quornflour | Tags: , , , , , ,

A while back I got pair of jelly-rolls as a thank you gift. I had never worked with them before so it was a bit of an experiment for me.

I have made quilts with strips before but none that were precut.

I was not really sure where to go with them, so I cut them in half and sewed them together.

That showed me that the strips were not all the same length, so I trimmed off the extra parts then cut each pair into two equal length parts.

I also noticed that some of the strips were ever so slightly different widths.

So I sewed all of the quarter length pieces together and then cut the strips down into squares and sewed them together alternating the directions.

Then, I was reminded of the trouble with jelly-rolls… finding binding fabric that matches in color and pattern.

I stood in front of my stash for at least a half an hour, pulling fabrics and not quite finding the right shade of pink, or blue. Then I asked myself, why pink or blue, why not yellow?

It worked out that I happen to have the perfect shade of yellow that also has a completely complementary pattern!

I still need to do a first wash, though for now it has taken up residency on my couch, for which at about 5’x5′ it is the perfect size.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

