cleverchickadee


Sweet and Savory Popcorn by quornflour

There was a point in my life where I thought Nutella was Marmite.

I know: very few similarities.

I am not entirely sure where the connection came from, other than I can trace it back to my time in the UK.

At any rate, it does not really matter. They are different, and I am not entirely sure I would make Marmite popcorn, though, never say never.

I will however make Nutella popcorn, because it is: Yum-o!

First make popcorn, I prefer to make it on the stovetop, mostly because it is the only method I have.

To make it on the stove top take a 5 quart pot, pour kernels so they make a single layer on the bottom (about ½ C) then at peanut oil to fill in the spaces (no more than 2 tablespoons). Cover (if your lid does not have a vent leave a little opening but not one bigger than a kernel).

Put the burner on high and listen, when you hear the sound of an ocean wave turn the burner to low.

Listen to the corn, the pop will be not unlike steps on an escalator, which I learned about today. Apparently, escalator steps confuse the brain; the steps change height, preventing your brain from making a rhythm. Or at least that is my unscientific understanding. You will hear the popping start a few pops, then get faster and then reduce again to a few pops, when the pops slow significantly, remove from the heat.

In a metal spoon take 2-3 Tablespoons of Nutella and place in the warm popcorn for a few seconds to soften. Transfer the popcorn into a large bowl stirring with the Nutella spoon, if it gets stuck with popped corn transfer to another spoon back and forth until all of the corn has Nutella on it.

Salt with about a teaspoon of kosher salt after the Nutella and mix again.

Yell: Yum-o! At the top of your lungs (honest it is way more delicious when you do this.) then enjoy!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

