cleverchickadee


Vanishing Smoothie by quornflour

I woke up this morning with itchy eyes, it has been raining, but the first thing I thought of was, “here comes allergy season”.

Local honey is a good way to fend off spring allergies; it is like a flu shot but in a good way.

Ginger has been shown to help boost metabolism and for people like me, a good kick-start in the morning is just what I need.

Berries are loaded with antioxidants and help fight diseases.

Yogurt is loaded with good bacteria…

So I decided that what I needed to start my day was a delicious honey, ginger, berry smoothie.

It is super easy, all you need is:

¾ C frozen mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries, strawberries & blackberries)

1 C plain yogurt

½ C milk

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon honey (add more if you want it sweeter)

¼ teaspoon ginger powder (sub with fresh ginger)

Add everything in a blender and blend until everything is mixed up and smooth and can be enjoyed with a straw!

It was so delicious, I forgot to take a picture until it was gone…

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I will make these for the kids and I this weekend!

Comment by jkohnhorst

if you use store bought frozen berries rather than berries you have frozen yourself, check to see that they do not have sugar added to them as some do.
If you use fresh berries, rinse them and cut (large strawerries) put them in the freezer flat so they do not stick together and make big ice chunks that mess up your blender.

Comment by quornflour

With smoothies you get it all in one drink. Super good for you. I’d make this one just for the color.

We just ran out of our own blueberries from the freezer, so I had to break down and buy some. 🙂

Comment by Elaine Schmidt

[…] a regular habit, so today was the first day back. When I was leaving I was thinking to myself that yesterday’s smoothie was so delicious, I would make one today for after my […]

Pingback by Pink Princess Recovery Smoothie « cleverchickadee




Leave a Reply

