cleverchickadee


Gluten Free Spaghetti Dinner by quornflour

I love squash.

My dog loves squash.

TxK loves squash.

How does anyone not love squash? That makes no sense to me.

So this past weekend while at the most fabulous grocery store in the world, I was checking out the produce, when I realized that what I really had a hankering for was Spaghetti Squash. It’s like squash and spaghetti all in one. De-lish.

So I bought one.

Preparing it is super easy.

Cut it in half the long way. Be careful, it is a meaty squash and this can be difficult.

Spoon out the seed guts.

Does anyone know if you can eat the seeds?

It seems like they would probably be good roasted with salt in a salad or as a snack, well good if they are anything like pumpkin seeds. I digress.

In a 9″x13″ baking pan, put 1½ tablespoons of butter and place in your oven and preheat to 350⁰.

Remove the dish when the butter is melted. If you aren’t a dairy person use 1½ tablespoons of olive oil and a dash of salt.

When the butter is melted, remove from the oven and place the squash in the pan skin side up and bake for about 35 minutes or until the skin is easily punctured with a knife.

When it is soft, remove it from the oven and using bamboo spoons scrape out the meat.

Serve it with a basic tomato sauce, maybe some bread, some cheese… or even on its own.

 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love spaghetti squash too 🙂

Comment by veggiegrettie

You can eat the seeds just like a pumpkin’s seeds and they taste similar 🙂

Comment by Nancy

The spaghetti squash I get at Trader Joe’s has a sticker saying microwave me for 12 minutes whole, after fork spiking it. You don’t know how many times this recipe has failed me and I swear to never cook spaghetti squash again. I really like it too. I will give it another shot now that I have your recipe!

Comment by butterflythroughlife




Leave a Reply

