cleverchickadee


Rainy Day Mac and Cheese by quornflour

Unlike my sister, I can live without my slow cooker. I am pretty sure my sister has at least 3 that she uses all of the time.

Especially the newer Crock Pot ones I have used, they seem to get hotter, are hot to the touch on the outside and even burn food within a few hours, so much for putting everything in and leaving for the day.

I had enough issues with mine that I brought to work in the fall, it is still at work.

At work we eat often, at least weekly. We have weekly breakfast, parties and sometimes instead even lunch.

In an attempt to be fiscally responsible a good amount of the eating is cooked in the office.

We have 3 crock pots, 2 griddles, 2 waffle irons a toaster oven, a few toasters, some deep fryers have turned up and there is always the microwave.

The other day we were having a little gathering; I went to the grocery store to pick up some stuff. The weather was cold and rainy and all around pretty miserable, so as my cart piled up with chips and dips I decided that it was a perfect day to make some mac and cheese.

It is easy and everyone loves it. We use the bigger 6 quart crock pots…

Here is what you need:

  • 2 cups shredded cooked bacon
  • 5 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 boxes macaroni
  • 5 cups of milk
  • 1 tablespoon dried onion
  • 2 tablespoons butter

Put everything in the crock pot, stir, put on high and cook until the noodles are soft, about 3 hours in a newer crock pot brand crock pot. Mix every hour.

If you have vegetarians in your bunch, or folks who do not eat pork, or just want something a little different, sub the bacon for sun dried tomatoes. I make both options.

Bonus recipe:

Now, I love peas with my mac and cheese, but I know not everyone is a huge fan. So in the 4 quart crock pot I put 2 lbs frozen peas with 32 slices of American cheese mixing occasionally I cooked this on high for about an hour and a half. I saw a few people just taking a bowl full of the peas, it is sort of like gluten free mac and cheese.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

