cleverchickadee


Mmm Cake by quornflour

Ever have one of those days, where the only thing that will make you happy is cake?

No?

Liar.

Okay, perhaps it is hormones, whatever.

Sunday, I wanted cake.

I looked for recipes, they seemed good but I then realized I was missing vanilla. When the recipe called for water… I thought to myself, meh, it is chocolate cake, water, coffee, coffee, water. Same difference… especially since I had a half a pot of late brewed coffee sitting in my coffee pot that I just could not simply chuck out.

So like I have said before I can never leave well enough alone. So I took an already delicious cake recipe and make it more delicious.

Here is my first experiment with making cake in a very long time… turned out pretty good, but have some ideas on how to make it even more delicious next time.

Here is what you will need for 2 cake rounds.

  • 3 Cups of flour
  • 2 Cups of sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 6 Tablespoons cocoa
  • 2/3 Cups of oil
  • 2 teaspoons vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons Kahlua
  • 2 Cups room temp coffee

In a large bowl combine the dry ingredients mix with a whisk.

In a smaller bowl mix the wet ingredients.

Pour wet ingredients into the dry ones and mix with whisk.

Pour into greased and floured round cake dishes and bake at 350⁰ for 30 minutes or until a wooden toothpick comes out dry.

Let cool on a rack and frost as desired.

I only made one, but then turned it into a “half layered cake” (frost half the cake, cut it in half, frost the second half, if you are careful you can make it look like a layered cake that was half eaten) I frosted it with some most delicious chocolate frosting. I ate a slice. Then I brought a really huge slice to my coffee addicted 82 year old landlady Lil (aka Crazy Lil’ – on account of everyone around here having gone bonkers).

After an exchange of texts which resulted from the Crazy Birds cake that Ben’s parents made him, I brought the rest to work.

Seriously, hormonal or not, I do NOT need that much cake staring at me at home. It’s chocolate; it is not like I can give it to the Doo, besides, Tito and Ernesto need a little more cake love in their life.

Though right now, I am sort of wishing I had kept a slice… maybe time to make a new cake…

Would it be weird to put beats in cake?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My mouth is watering now looking at this 🙂

Comment by whatsaysyou

[…] while back I made chocolate cake, then I rejiggered it and made citrus spice […]

Pingback by Readjusting Cake « cleverchickadee

[…] and since we were meeting friends there, one of whom is a vegan we made, that’s right vegan cupcakes using my tried and true favorite […]

Pingback by Divine Cupcake Intervention | cleverchickadee




Leave a Reply

