cleverchickadee


Makin’ Bread by quornflour

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The phrase, making bread makes me chuckle, I won’t tell you why since it may not be appropriate… but anyway. That is not what made me decide to make a loaf anyway.

I was playing Scrabble the other day and decided that since I had not recently picked up a loaf of bread, maybe I should make some. I did not have a recipe in mind so I figured I would ask the person I was playing Scrabble with if she had a recipe.

It just so happened that at that particular moment I was playing Scrabble with my former Middle School Home Ec teacher, who in fact did have a very simple recipe to pass along.

Here is what she said:

Here is the recipe, I hope you try it and like it!

Cuban Bread:

Dissolve 1 ½ T. yeast in 2 cups warm water with 1 tsp. sugar.

Put 2 cups flour, 2 tsp. salt, ¼ tsp. ginger in large bowl; mix; add water/yeast. Add up to about 2 to 3 more cups flour gradually until you have a soft, kneadable dough. (I put mine in the Kitchen Aid as I hate to knead). Knead until dough is smooth and elastic.

Grease a baking sheet, sprinkle with corn meal. Divide dough in half, make into 2 rounded balls. Pat top of each ball of dough with water to just “baptise” it. Place on baking sheet away from each other.

Put into COLD oven. Place a pan of boiling hot water on the bottom shelf in oven. Turn oven on to 400, bake for about 30 minutes.

Can also use dough for pizza, calzone, Stromboli, crusty rolls.
No rising is needed; can also refrigerate dough all shaped and then baked.

When reading the instructions I saw three potential issues:

  1. I forgot to pick up corn meal… I just used flour it worked just fine.
  2. I have a super-efficient in terms of preheating gas stove and assume the rising stage is in the preheating stage… Since it is cold outside, the heater portion of my stove has been on and my oven temp at “cold” ranges from room temp to 125⁰ at any given time. I adjusted my cooking time by placing the bread in the oven, taking the dog for a walk (about 10 minutes in all) and then coming home, heating the oven and then placing that in the oven and turning it on. No issues with this adjustment.
  3. The third being that I simply have a hard time following instructions, so when I added the flour mixture to the water/yeast mixture I also added about 8 finely chopped cloves of garlic. You need to remember it is there when you are kneading it so you don’t try to work out the lumps. It was super delicious if you ask me.

Also, I LOVE kneading bread, which is part of the reason I wanted to make it, so having a mixer is unnecessary.

Now to avoid confusion and to make gathering things easier, here is what you will need:

  • 1 ½ T baker’s yeast (2 envelopes)
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 4-5 cups flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp powdered ginger
  • 8 cloves finely chopped garlic
  • Grease and corn meal for baking sheet

The bread was super easy to make, super delicious to eat (kind of sweet almost) and totally complimented the meal!

I am going to try this recipe again to make other versions of bread… I am also going to try it out with some gluten free baking flours.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

As the sous chef/1st line taster, I can say it was so good, I didn’t even want to put butter on it (gasp!). Stealing this recipe, and feeling okay about it…and happy to be a tester for any future renditions.

Comment by Camp Freeport

[…] decided that a perfect lunch would be homemade bread with a veggie stew and […]

Pingback by Vegan, Does not Mean Lettuce « cleverchickadee

This was terrific, and, true that it was great without butter. The garlic was subtle yet flavorful.

Comment by Julie

[…] I brought stew, fruit salad, an almond cookie, a slice of homemade bread. I also brought a thing of yogurt to have as a more proper breakfast when I arrived at […]

Pingback by Frequent Flighter Miles « 2 Sisters, 1 Goal

[…] especially delicious with a steak or soup and a slice of fresh bread or enjoy on its […]

Pingback by Super Delicious Apple Beat Salad « cleverchickadee

[…] it with a basic tomato sauce, maybe some bread, some cheese… or even on its […]

Pingback by Gluten Free Spaghetti Dinner « cleverchickadee




Leave a Reply

