cleverchickadee


Spinach Eggs by quornflour

If someone asks you how you want your eggs, always say poached. That is advice I once got from my friend Erik.

I woke up this morning and was puttering about I thought to myself, I really want Spinach Eggs and curry lamb (but not together).

Then there was a post on my facebook wall that one of the guys I work with had left a jelly donut on my desk, it seemed sort of perfect for a Monday.

I spent half of the day grumpy and then when the meeting that was making me grumpy was over I was good. Including making plans for curry lamb for tomorrow.

On the way home I picked up spinach, bacon and cheese, key ingredients for Spinach Eggs. Generally I like to make a rule to grate my own cheese, it is not that hard and generally you can save money and just freeze the extra, but I was feeling lazy and since this is not the quickest meal, I decided to give myself a break.

I already had eggs and spices at home… for 2 servings here is what you will need…

For the rice you will need the most things…

  • 1 pat of butter (½ tablespoon)
  • ¾ cups of rice
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper

In a small saucepan melt the butter, add the rice and spices and mix until the rice is translucent. Add the water and put on low heat and cook.

Bacon, cook it in a cast iron skillet.

Take some rendered bacon fat and put it in a large saucepan and add a bag of rinsed spinach and cook until the leaves are limp and bright (don’t cook the color out or you are also cooking the goodness out.

Poach 4 eggs

Serve in a bowl, rice first, lightly sprinkle with cheddar cheese, 2 poached eggs, 2-3 pieces of bacon, spinach and then add some TFW to the top.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

