cleverchickadee


Binding by quornflour

I am not going to sit here at lie to you and tell you how much I love binging, how easy it is and how I jumped head first into the crocodile pit.

Fact is: I feared it. I let it consume me.

Fear or not, it makes a quilt look so much more finished than one without.

So one day I tried it out. It turned out ok. I learned a lot. I tried different methods, asked people and a lot of trial and error.

That said, the one I just finished was the first after numerous attempts, some better than others that I sat back and said. “Wow that was easy.”

So to spare you all of the failure that I had to endured let me share with you the easiest way to bind.

First. Skip the pre-folded binding you find in the craft store, I still do not understand that stuff. Besides, if you make your own, you can match the fabric with the quilt.

After you have finished piecing, basting and finally quilting or tying off your quilt: trim off all of the uneven edges if there are any and set it aside.

Next with the fabric you want to use to bind, cut it into strips, fabric is usually between 45″-52″ wide so take note of this when you are determining how many strips you will need. Don’t cut the long way, that’s tacky.

I use 3″ strips, it makes a nice thin binging but is also easy to use. For a long time I was using 2″ until I realized that doing that was making me a crazy person.

After you are done cutting get out your iron and iron each piece down the middle (the long way) right side out and then open and iron the sides in so it is ironed into quarters. Fold it up on the ironed seams and re-iron. (I love ironing). You can see the completed ironing in the picture above.

Next you want to attach all of your binding to make one long strip. To do this, take the ends of your binding end to end perpendicular right sides together and sew along the diagonal to make a mitered seam.

Cut off the triangle and open. Repeat this until all of your biding is one piece, if you find that your seams are crooked, take it out and do it again.

Starting in the middle of one side with a tail of about a foot so that you can join the ends when you get near the end, pin If you’re into that) or hold the binding on, and sew in the middle, if you are lined up correctly you will sew both sides at the same time. I like to go around a second time, but that is because it is just sewing straight lines.

To go around the corners fold into triangles and sew, leaving your needle in the down position when turning the corner.

Make sure it is folded evenly on both sides… the back sometimes likes to get a little squirrely.

When you get close to the end, stop about 12″ near where you started. This is the part that gets a little tricky and I forgot to photograph because I was concentrating… basically you are going to overlap the two ends so that they overlap the equivalent length that is the width. If you are using 3″ strips, then it would be a 3 inch overlap. Join the ends the same way you joined the strips earlier. Finish sewing. Easy peasy!

 

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] I was reminded of the trouble with jelly-rolls… finding binding fabric that matches in color and […]

Pingback by Jelly Roll Quilt Complete « cleverchickadee




Leave a Reply

